Axis Robotics Review 2026: AXIS Token, Prospects and Reviews

Axis Robotics pays contributors in AXIS for robot training data on Base. We review its 7M trajectories, tokenomics, the October 2026 sell-off and user feedback.

Axis Robotics website showing robotics infrastructure, workforce and data

Axis Robotics is a crowdsourced data platform for physical AI: contributors steer simulated robot arms in a browser, and the resulting trajectories train robot models, with each accepted contribution recorded on Base. Its AXIS token began trading on 21 October 2026 and fell 40% on 29 October after investigator ZachXBT alleged insider selling, a claim the project denies. On 2 November 2026 AXIS traded at $0.1248 on CoinMarketCap, 25% above its $0.10 community sale price and 66% below its launch-week high of $0.3702.

Product maturity

3.2/5

3.2

Axis Hub has run since January 2026 and produced 7M trajectories, but paying customers are not disclosed.

Risk profile

2.3/5

2.3

An unresolved dispute over 42M AXIS sold on 29 October and 98.83% of supply in 10 wallets.

Our assessment

Axis Robotics runs a working data platform with 200,000+ contributors and a peer-reviewable research result, which puts it ahead of token-first projects that launch with nothing to show. The token side is weaker: a disputed sell-off eight days after launch, supply concentrated in a few wallets, and no published audit or revenue figures.

What stands out

  • Live product with 5.5 to 7 million robot trajectories from 200,000+ contributors
  • Published research: Axis data lifted a π0.5 model on LIBERO-Plus from 83.9% to 88.8%
  • Fixed supply of 1 billion AXIS with no inflation
  • Team and private-round tokens locked until October 2027

What holds it back

  • AXIS fell 40% on 29 October 2026 amid disputed claims of insider selling
  • Top 10 wallets held 98.83% of supply on 29 October (BaseScan)
  • No public security audit and no disclosed data revenue
  • Staking and governance are proposals with no published terms

Key facts

Launched
Axis Hub on 19 January 2026. AXIS trading from 21 October 2026
Chain(s)
Base (ERC-20)
TVL
Not applicable. Axis is a data platform, not a DeFi protocol
Token
AXIS. 1 billion fixed supply, 165 million circulating at launch
Audits
No public audit found. Contract source code verified on Sourcify
Team
Public. Co-founder and CEO Jingze (Chris) Feng, co-founder Christine Cao

What Axis Robotics does

Language models scaled on text the internet had already written. Robots have no such corpus. Collecting physical demonstrations with real robots in a lab is slow and expensive, and Axis Robotics was built on the bet that a crowd with browsers is cheaper.

The pipeline, as described in the project's documentation and technical report:

  1. Simulation tasks. A contributor opens Axis Hub on a desktop and teleoperates a robot arm through grasping or placement tasks. The simulator, MuJoCo compiled to WebAssembly, runs locally, so no hardware is needed.
  2. Correction tasks. Contributors watch a trained model attempt a task and correct its mistakes.
  3. Verification. Accepted work earns Axis Points and is anchored on Base as a Data ID, which records provenance without uploading raw data to the chain.
  4. Training loop. The team trains policies on the data, and failures of the stronger model decide which tasks get collected next.

What the data has shown so far

The volume is real. Axis reported 1 million trajectories on 7 June 2026, 3 million by 13 August and more than 6 million by 2 October. Crypto Briefing put the total at 5.5 to 7 million from more than 200,000 contributors at launch.

Quality is the harder question, and here Axis offers one documented answer. In an arXiv paper (2607.21588), further pre-training Physical Intelligence's π0.5 model on Axis data raised its LIBERO-Plus success rate from 83.9% to 88.8%, 31.3 points above a control trained on the same amount of RoboCasa365 data. Axis also names Booster Robotics and Geely Auto as commercial partners. It has not disclosed contract values.

Team, funding and location

The co-founder and CEO is Jingze (Chris) Feng, and Dealroom lists Christine Cao as co-founder. Axis says its team includes researchers from UC Berkeley, Carnegie Mellon, UCLA and Nanyang Technological University. PitchBook counts 11 employees.

Location records disagree. PitchBook places the company in San Francisco, CB Insights in Berkeley, and CoinMarketCap describes a Singapore-based team. We found no corporate filing that settles it.

The funding record:

  • 27 July 2026: a $12 million seed round led by Hack VC, with Nomad Capital, Pi Network Ventures and 10K Ventures.
  • 21 to 28 September 2026: a community sale through Sonar of 10 million AXIS at $0.10, a $100 million fully diluted valuation.

AXIS tokenomics and the release schedule

AXIS is an ERC-20 on Base with a fixed supply of 1 billion tokens and no inflation. 165 million, or 16.5%, circulated at launch. The full supply is released by T+35, 35 months after the token generation event.

The published allocation:

AllocationAXISShareRelease
Ecosystem510,833,33351.08%80M at launch, then monthly to T+35
Core team152,000,00015.20%12-month cliff, then 24 months
Contributor rewards100,000,00010.00%Airdrop seasons 1 and 2
Private A98,000,0009.80%12-month cliff, then 24 months
Private B66,666,6676.67%12-month cliff, then 24 months
Liquidity60,000,0006.00%Fully available at launch
Sonar sale10,000,0001.00%Monthly from T+6 to T+11
Kaito reward pool2,500,0000.25%Fully available at launch

The Ecosystem line matters more than the team line in year one. By our calculation from the published schedule, it releases 11.84 million AXIS a month, plus an extra 8.25 million at T+1 and at T+2. That is new supply every month equal to 7% of the launch float, before any team or investor tokens move in October 2027.

Token utility today is contributor rewards and ecosystem funding. Staking for access to higher-value tasks and governance are listed as proposals. Their terms have not been published.

The 29 October sell-off: two accounts

Eight days after trading began, the market saw what a thin float does under pressure.

On 29 October 2026 ZachXBT alleged that addresses linked to Axis Robotics insiders received more than 76 million AXIS, worth over $12 million, from a team multisig, then sold through decentralized exchanges on Base and moved part to Bitget. He said one recipient sold 42 million AXIS for 5.04 million USDC across eight wallets. AXIS fell 35.9% in 24 hours to $0.1379 (CoinGecko, via The Crypto Times).

Axis Robotics responded within hours with a different account:

  • No team or investor tokens were sold.
  • The tokens came from the Ecosystem allocation inside the launch float.
  • They went to a single OTC counterparty under a written agreement with lock-up terms.
  • The counterparty, Axis says, broke that agreement by selling through hundreds of fresh addresses within hours of delivery.

Axis says it cut ties with the counterparty and engaged lawyers. It has not named the firm. ZachXBT's findings are allegations, and Axis's explanation is a claim. No regulator, court or exchange has made a finding either way as of 2 November 2026.

In our interpretation, both accounts point to the same structural fact. Tokens counted as circulating sat in wallets that one party controlled and moved in bulk. A BaseScan snapshot on 29 October showed 8,173 holders, with the top 10 wallets holding 98.83% of total supply, a figure that includes the vesting contract. A sale of 42 million tokens equals 25% of the launch float. The chart did the rest.

What users and observers say

Axis has no Trustpilot profile or app store listing to aggregate, so feedback comes from contributor guides, exchange research pages and social channels. The patterns repeat across sources.

Praise centers on access:

  • No robot hardware needed, only a desktop browser.
  • Points tied to task quality and difficulty, not raw activity.
  • A visible research output in the arXiv paper and the public Axis dataset.

Complaints center on the token:

  • Points carry no guaranteed AXIS allocation, and contributor guides from Bitrue and Bittime warn readers of that gap.
  • Each signed submission costs a small amount of ETH on Base, an entry barrier for casual contributors.
  • Binance Square threads ask openly whether activity is research or airdrop farming.
  • The 29 October sell-off left holders asking why lock-up tokens traded within days.

Prospects: what decides the next 12 months

There is no price forecast here, by design. These are the dated events and open questions the project's future turns on:

  • Season 2 airdrop. 60 million AXIS for sim-to-real contributions, scheduled to open on 23 October 2026, with terms still to be published.
  • Monthly Ecosystem releases. 11.84 million AXIS a month from T+1, with extra tranches at T+1 and T+2.
  • Airdrop tranches. 10 million AXIS each at T+3 and T+6 from Season 1.
  • Staking terms. Promised before launch, not yet published.
  • Data revenue. Axis plans data subscriptions and processing services. No revenue figure has been disclosed.
  • Team and investor vesting. 316.7 million AXIS begin monthly release from T+12, October 2027.

The thesis is coherent. Robot learning does need data, and Axis has shown that it collects it at scale. Whether buyers pay for that data, and whether the token gets a role beyond paying for it, is still open.

For Canadian readers

AXIS trades on Coinbase in supported regions, which Coinbase has not listed. On platforms registered in Canada, CSA terms cap net purchases of non-exempt tokens such as AXIS at $30,000 over 12 months for retail investors who are not eligible or accredited. Canadian tax practitioners treat airdropped AXIS as income at fair market value on receipt, and the CRA treats each later sale as a disposition measured in CAD.

Questions people ask

What is the official AXIS contract address?
The official AXIS token is the ERC-20 at 0x5bE75e3b0aFf5D1A042A5363Ae36AcB1d6d755ea on Base, named Axis Token with 18 decimals. Tokens using the AXIS ticker on Solana are unrelated to the project.
Do Axis Points convert into AXIS tokens?
No. Axis Points are non-transferable records of accepted work and cannot be redeemed for cash. The project says Points are one input for airdrop eligibility, not a guaranteed allocation.
Do I need a robot to contribute to Axis?
No. Contributors control a simulated robot arm in a desktop browser through MuJoCo compiled to WebAssembly. Submissions are signed on Base, which requires a small amount of ETH for gas.
Is AXIS available in Canada?
AXIS trades on Coinbase, but Coinbase has not published which regions are supported. On platforms registered in Canada, CSA terms cap net purchases of non-exempt tokens at $30,000 per 12 months for retail investors who are not eligible or accredited.
Sources we checked (11)
Mikko Mikailov

Mikko Mikailov

Senior reviewer, financial products

Mikko has been writing about money since 2015, covering payment services, trading platforms and crypto for readers in several markets. He leads exchange and wallet reviews at CryptoInfoBase.